Trends in Adult Education: Microlearning

In my search for what is considered new and hot in adult education I came across the term microlearning many times. Enough times that it made me want to know more.

What I found was a very cool concept of lesson delivery.

So what exactly is microlearning?

Microlearning is a form of spaced learning. Micro, meaning small. It is presented as small snippets of content heavy information, delivered to the learner on a daily basis. This is done through the use of apps, allowing the coursework to be delivered to the learner quickly, anywhere in the world, via their mobile device.

rodion-kutsaev-184298-unsplash

While microlearning may be a modern concept, the science behind it is not. German psychologist, Hermann Ebbinghaus, pioneer of the experimental study of memory, can be credited as the first to give a name to the concept of spaced learning. His findings were that long-term retention of information is improved when studying is spread out over time, in a repetitive form.

jesse-orrico-60373-unsplash

I found a great online article about the brain science of microlearning by Victoria Zambito, titled The Brain Science of Microlearning: Why it Works. It brings home why Ebbinghaus’s initial spaced learning theory is applicable to today’s learner. In a world where we have access to information at lightning speed, it makes sense that the expectations and characteristics of the learner have evolved. Why would I want to sit in an hour-long lecture, when I could access the usable portions of the lecture in 5 minutes of my time, on my device, from anywhere, at anytime?

rawpixel-762099-unsplash

The numbers behind this trend amazed me. As reported in 2015 by Karla Gutierrez on shiftelearning.com as to why bite sized learning is better for your learners:

  • Microlearning makes the transfer of learning 17% more efficient
  • Microlearning creates 50% more engagement
  • 8 out of 10 Learning and Development professionals favor microlearning because their learners prefer it
  • Learning in stretches of 3 to 7 minutes matches the working memory capacity
  • Microlearning courses can be produced in 300% less time and at 50% less cost than traditional courses

I am so excited to start integrating microlearning into my workplace. I plan to use it as an instructor development tool for my staff, but I can see it taking on a much larger role when it comes to curriculum delivery in our classes. Because the programs I oversee at my college are vocational in nature, I would love to test this out for the theory component of our courses, leaving more time for practical applications. I am not threatened by this tool, as many teachers may be. I understand that we need to evolve in our role as educators, and that means that traditional lecturing may become a thing of the past.

benjamin-sow-744448-unsplash

I found Ed: The Mobile LMS in my search for a microlearning platform. I signed up for a free account and am currently at the stage of testing it out. You can check out Ed: The Mobile LMS here: https://www.edapp.com/ 

What do you think about microlearning? I would love to know. Please leave your thoughts in the comments section.

Audrey

Audrey Head Shot

This post was created as part of the Provincial Instructor Diploma Program at Vancouver Community College. You can access their website here. To access the School of Instructor Education Facebook page click here.

Leave a comment